• One of the themes my students keep coming back to is “I can’t.” This can be a cry for lots of things or also just a refusal to try so what I’ve been telling them is when we don’t think we can do something or it’s too hard we TRY! It usually keeps them busy for at least another five minutes on whatever they thought they couldn’t do. But this past week I learned that I am actually teaching things. We were broken up into group to read a story and one of my students was struggling. As I came by she said, “I can’t do it!” and so I asked her, “What do we do when we don’t think we can do something?” Immediately the boy who was partnered with her spoke up and said, “TRY!” I was so surprised! He’s been having a rough week in other areas and we hadn’t talked about trying in a long time. I was so proud that he remember and so encouraged that now when he thinks things are too hard there’s a voice in his head that says try!
  • One of the YWAM staff members who is sending her kids our school has become a fairly regular classroom aid of mine and I was so encouraged by her this past week. We were discussing school and challenges we were facing. She reminded us of such an important truth. She said that God is for this school and he is changing lives through it. It was amazing because as soon as I though about how God was working through the school I stopped worrying about the exact details of how it all played out. Yes, there are an overwhelming about of logistics to running a school and the first time through we’re not going to get everything right but God is still working and what’s happening there is a good thing! I immediately felt so refreshed.
  • You know it’s a small world when you meet someone at a hotel in Haiti who knows your friends. This weekend I ran into a couple from Torrance, CA that knew my friend from Santa Barbara who is also working at an orphanage in Haiti (insert obnoxious Disney song).
  • I’m really into Hot and Spicy Cheez-it’s right now! SO tasty :)
Joyce Berg
10/10/2011 03:42:19 am

Good news. I like the "try" encouragement. It fits lots of situations.

Reply
Dad
10/10/2011 12:59:59 pm

I am encouraged to try when I would rather whine.

Reply
2/25/2012 03:22:59 pm

will come back shortly

Reply
3/22/2012 10:19:27 pm

THX for info

Reply
3/27/2012 03:35:11 am

THX for info

Reply
3/29/2012 09:17:03 am

Thanks for information

Reply
3/30/2012 10:16:47 am

good post

Reply
9/24/2012 08:39:11 pm

Nice article dude

Reply



Leave a Reply.