We got to spend this last Sunday basking on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. To get there you leave the highway at the 87 kilometer marker and follow the dirty road out 45 minutes to one of the most impoverished spots in our area. The nearest place for this community to get water is 45 minutes back the way we came. We brought food with us and checked on some fresh water that had been sent out to them a few days before. From there we walked 50 yards down a hill. Opening in front of us was one of the most spectacular beaches I have ever seen. Small trees line your pathway down. At the edge of where the dry ground meets the white sand are clusters of low, wide-spreading trees with bright green leaves hanging on lazy branches. Dangling between the leave are what look like strings of green beads, dripping out of the tree. And visible between the trees and leave is a white sand beach with nothing but white coral and white shells sprinkled along it. It’s enclosed on both sides by cliffs that jut into the perfectly turquoise water. There are no planes flying overhead, no car noise from the road, no oilrigs off shore, and no seaweed in sight. It’s just peaceful and still and waiting to be enjoyed.  While swimming in the water, eating fresh avocado sandwiches on fresh bread, tanning, and good conversations we all a part of it, the highlight was definitely swimming over to the taller cliff and then carefully climbing the precarious route 35 feet to the top so that we could jump off. The day was so beautiful and the water so inviting that I felt fearless. I didn’t think I would be excited till I started to swim over but something about the cliff just said, “You have to do this!” The first time I scaled my way to the top way ahead of the other my friend Stephen told me the Haitian’s have an expression that some women are 40% man, “and you, Elise, are part man.”

I turned out to be a terrible rock-climbing guide for my friend who were following me up. They had to depend on Stephen to help them navigate. I just got so focused on the climb I forgot where to direct their hands and feet (so don’t ever follow me up cliffs if you’re looking for guidance).

The other landmark for this week is Thursday was the first day of school! I’ll have much more to say about school soon but for now I can report that things went really well in my classroom. My students listened and were attentive and we just spent the first day getting to know each other. I have been so blessed by everyone who has been praying for me. I know this is going to be a good year for me and for them.

Dad
9/25/2011 12:23:36 am

Wow! I felt like I was there with you. Great description of a beautiful place. Proverbs 25:25

Reply
3/22/2012 12:46:36 am

Appreciate your details

Reply
3/26/2012 01:08:43 pm

will return before long

Reply
3/30/2012 12:07:25 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply
7/14/2012 01:38:29 am

will be restored shortly

Reply



Leave a Reply.