Being back in Haiti has been exciting and exhausting.  But today was a sweet reminder of why I love being here.  I was up to see a warm, red sunrise tint the mountains. A psalm that has been close to me this past week  (Ps. 46) says, “Be still and know that I am God” and that’s exactly what I got to do this morning; just sit in quietness and stillness before the day began. Thanks to the encouragement of my friends I was able to make lesson plans for my whole week by Monday so it was restful coming to school with nothing to create, find, copy, or rush through. I had several gracious helpers come through my classroom today and it was a pleasure to work with them and to have my kids get more individual attention. My class spent the afternoon creating sparkly, glittery fabulously chaotic picture frames and I loved to see them dive into the project and create their own beautiful cacophony of color. I’m so excited to display their frames in our class for the week. Riding home on top of the bus finished the workday off perfectly.

As we pulled in to drop off the Reeves family at their house I hear small voices yelling out, “Miss Elise! Miss Elise!” from inside the bus. I climbed to the back and saw the bright, smiling faces of Judah and Josie-Kate and they stretched out their hands to me. They didn’t have any agenda or questions, they just wanted to say hi and I couldn’t help but smile but my joy wasn’t over. As we watched everyone leave the bus from our vantage point on the roof my newest student, Havana (who had just finished her second day) spotted me and gave me a huge wave and a smile, “Bye Miss Elise! Love you!” But to really make my heart melt completely Josie and Judah joined her with a second chorus of “Love you, Miss Elise!” I felt so loved and so humbled to receive such a spontaneous outpouring of affection.  I still smile now thinking about their contagious joy. I am so thankful and beyond blessed to share life not only with the team here but also with the children, who bring no end of laughter and happiness to my days here.




Leave a Reply.